Welcome to our store Learn more

New collections added! Learn more

Rock, Rosetta, Rock! Roll, Rosetta, Roll! Rock, Rosetta, Rock! Roll, Rosetta, Roll!

Author/Illustrator: Tonya Bolden, R Gregory Christie
Ages 6-9
Published February 14, 2023
$ 1899 USD

Cover

Description

"A profile as bold and vivacious as the singer herself." —Kirkus (starred review)

"Terrific for all collections that want to inspire the musically inclined and highlight innovative pioneers." Booklist (starred review)

"Bolden uses alliteration, assonance, repetition, and rhythm to create an irresistibly musical text that effectively communicates the feel of Tharpe's music. Christie's lively illustrations. . . capture the physicality of Tharpe's performance style and the intensity of her sound." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Impressive offering about an often-overlooked figure in American music." The Horn Book (starred review)

“The marriage of Bolden’s words and Christie’s pictures is almost as satisfying as Tharpe’s songs.” —New York Times Book Review

Perfect for fans of Trombone Shorty and Ada’s Violin!

Award-winning author Tonya Bolden and acclaimed illustrator R. Gregory Christie deliver an inspiring true story about the life, career, and impact of 20th-century blues and gospel singer Sister Rosetta Tharpe, who was a trailblazer for rock-and-roll. Includes a timeline of Sister Rosetta Tharpe’s life, author’s note, and a list of sources.

Before there was Elvis, Chuck Berry, Little Richard, and Johnny Cash, there was Sister Rosetta Tharpe.

The godmother of rock & roll started as a little girl from Arkansas with music in her air, in her hair, in her bones, wiggling her toes. With a big guitar in hand and a big voice in her soul, she grew into a rock & roll trailblazer in a time when women were rarely seen rocking out. Her guitar picking was like nobody else’s!

Boogie along with this rockin’ tribute to the Rock n’ Roll Hall of Famer Sister Rosetta Tharpe by Coretta Scott King Honor-winning author Tonya Bolden and Caldecott Honor-winning illustrator R. Gregory Christie.



AWARDS
  New York Times Best Illustrated Book
Age Range:  4 - 8

Payment & Security

Payment methods

  • American Express
  • Apple Pay
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Google Pay
  • JCB
  • Mastercard
  • PayPal
  • Shop Pay
  • Venmo
  • Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.